Teaching Awards shortlist 2019

This year, The Union received an incredible 1037 nominations from students.

Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony at The Union on Thursday 23 May.

All staff and students at Manchester Met are invited to attend the evening.


The shortlists:

Teacher of the Year
Dr Bartek Buczkowski (HPSC)
Ffion Evans (HPSC)
Michala Hulme (Arts and Humanities)
Ruth Sanderson (Arts and Humanities)
Dr Sam Wilkinson (Education)

Course of the Year
BA (Hons) Acting (Arts and Humanities)
BSc (Hons) Mathematics (Science and Engineering)
MSc Human Physiology (Science and Engineering)
MBA Degree Apprenticeship (Business and Law)

Department of the Year
Accounting, Finance and Banking (Business and Law)
Department of Health Professions (HPSC)
School of Healthcare Sciences (Science and Engineering)
School of Science and the Environment (Science and Engineering)
Department of Social Care and Social Work (HPSC)

Outstanding Feedback
Susan Barker (Arts and Humanities)
Dr Vincent Fitzsimons (Business and Law)
Katie Jones (Arts and Humanities) 
Dr Susanne Langer (HPSC)
Dr Matthew Shardlow (Science and Engineering)

Best Personal Tutor
Cherryl Clements (Business and Law)
Dr Ella Cranmer (Business and Law)
Ffion Evans (HPSC)
Dr Melanie Hall (Education)
Dr Gayatri Nambiar-Greenwood (HPSC)

Best Undergraduate Supervisor
Dr Chris Field (Science and Engineering)
Dr Sarah Jones (Science and Engineering)
Dr Ryan Mewis (Science and Engineering)
Rosamund Oats (Arts and Humanities)
Dr Susan Waring (HPSC)

Best Postgraduate Supervisor
Professor Craig Banks (Science and Engineering)
Professor Tony Brown (Education)
Dr Jenny Fisher (HPSC)
Professor Sarah Grogan (HPSC)
Dr Ryan Mewis (Science and Engineering)

Outstanding Innovation in Teaching
Dr Khawla Badwan (Arts and Humanities)
Dr Geoff Bunn, Dr Susanne Langer, Dr Andrew Stevenson and Nina Fellows (HPSC)
Dr Matthew Crossley (Science and Engineering)
Olga Kuznetsova and the Global Economic Environment Module, MMU Global Online MBA (Business and Law)
MSc Industrial Digitalisation (Science and Engineering)

Outstanding Teaching for Employability
Susan Brankin (HPSC)
Dr Lisa Coulthwaite (Science and Engineering)
Dr Vincent Fitzsimons (Business and Law)
Lucy Gannon, Simone Ridyard and the BA Hons Interior Design team (Arts and Humanities)
The Social Work team (HPSC)

Outstanding Teaching for Sustainability
Helen Aston (Arts and Humanities)
Dr Paul Dewick (Business and Law)
Karen Radcliffe and the Events Management Department (Business and Law)
BSc Environmental Science (Natural Resources and Global Environmental Issues modules) (Science and Engineering)