8 NUS delegates revealed

Thursday 17-11-2016 - 14:22
Union general unioncloud

Eight NUS Conference delegates were elected today (17 November 2016), after 614 of you voted for your preferred candidates.

Your elected candidates are:

Stage 1: Lily Smith and Ruth Hudson

Stage 2: Frances Leach

Stage 12: Muhammad Suffian Umer

Stage 14: Modou Damphna

Stage 19: Andy Harmon and Kai Cooper

Stage 22: Bridget Taylor

They will travel to Brighton in April 2017 with Lewis, the president, for a three day event which will bring together thousands of students from across the country to discuss, debate and vote on national NUS policy, as well as vote on the leadership of the organisation for the year ahead.

Voting was open to all Manchester Met students for the past week, closing today at 17:00, and all students were able to stand, or nominate another student to stand. Students were then able to read candidate manifestos and vote online.

Representation on NUS Conference delegations is a motion that was passed at National Conference 2014, changing NUS’ rules on the make-up of delegations to National Conference. The motion means that all delegations have to have at least 50% self-defining women on them (rounded down). If we hadn’t naturally elected 50% women students, we would have had to undertake a second count.

If you would like a full breakdown of the results, email Christina Kennedy, Engagement Manager, on c.kennedy@mmu.ac.uk.

Find out more about the NUS Annual Conference.



Your Voice

Related Tags :

nus, elections, delegates,

More Manchester Metropolitan University Students' Union Articles

More Articles...