Teaching Awards 2017 winners revealed

Tuesday 16-05-2017 - 14:19
Teaching awards unioncloud

The winners of this year’s Teaching Awards were revealed at a glittering awards ceremony this evening in The Union.

The seventh annual Teaching Awards took place in the Main Hall, which was once again transformed and the red carpet rolled out to host the awards ceremony.

Education Officer, Luca Raimo and Vice President Cheshire, Kwame Mensah compeered the night in front of an audience of over 100 people, all gathered to celebrate outstanding and inspiring teaching at Manchester Met.

To open the evening, Vice-Chancellor, Professor Malcolm Press spoke to guests about the value of education and told the audience that “education transforms lives”.

A total of eleven awards were presented, including The Union Award for Outstanding Achievement, Outstanding Innovation in Teaching and Outstanding Feedback.

Chieko Yonezawa won the much-anticipated Teacher of the Year award, and the Department of the Year award was once again handed to the Department of Health Professions.

The shortlists were comprised of individuals, teams, courses and departments, all nominated by students at Manchester Met. With a grand 934 nominations, a panel comprising of students, Student Officers and representatives from Manchester Met’s Centre for Excellence in Learning and Teaching judged entries anonymously.

Find out more about the Teaching Awards.

The winners:

The Union Award for Outstanding Achievement – Lisa Bach (Arts and Humanities)

Outstanding Innovation in Teaching – Haydn Insley (Science and Engineering)

Outstanding Feedback – Dr Pete Dale (Cheshire campus)

Best Personal Tutor – David Heaton (Science and Engineering)

Best Undergraduate Supervisor – Dr Zoe Franklin (Cheshire campus)

Best Postgraduate Supervisor – Dr Sarah Crozier (Business and Law)

Department of the Year – Department of Health Professions (HPSC)

Outstanding Teaching for Employability – Dr Dyan Colclough (Arts and Humanities)

Outstanding Teaching for Sustainability – Sustainable Production and Consumption Module (Science and Engineering)

Course of the Year – BA (Hons) Creative Writing (Cheshire campus)

Teacher of the Year – Chieko Yonezawa (Arts and Humanities)

If you missed the event, it was live streamed on Facebook, and you can watch it here:



Stories, Your Voice

Related Tags :

awards, teaching awards,

More Manchester Metropolitan University Students' Union Articles

More Articles...