Student Officers announced at elections results night

Friday 17-03-2017 - 11:58
Officerwinners unioncloud

Student Officers for the 2017/18 academic year have been revealed.

At a glittering ceremony held in the Main Hall at The Union this evening (16 March), the six successful candidates were announced live on stage.

Hussain El-Amin will be your next Students’ Union President with Amie Atkinson the next Vice President Cheshire.

The highly anticipated event, which featured performances from MMU Dance, the Gilbert and Sullivan society, Olivia Atkinson and Poetry in Motion, celebrated the hard work that all candidates have put into their campaigns over the previous weeks.

Results were presented by The Union’s Chief Executive, Matt Robinson and current President, Lewis Bartlett. Current Vice President, Kwame Mensah compered the evening, which closed with a DJ set by Hive Radio.

A record-breaking total of 5,297 students cast their vote to choose who will lead The Union next academic year.

The new Student Officer team will start on 1 July when they will become the voice of 36,000 students at Manchester Met.

The full list of elected Student Officers are:

Hussain El-Amin (Straight Outta MMU) – President

Amie Atkinson (Straight Outta MMU) – Vice President Cheshire

Lily Smith (Straight Outta MMU) – Community Officer

Luca Raimo (Straight Outta MMU) – Education Officer

Owen Jones (Straight Outta MMU) – Activities Manchester

Andrew Young (Straight Outta MMU) – Activities Cheshire


You can watch how events unfolded on our live streamed video:


Stories, Your Voice

Related Tags :

elections, student officers,

More Manchester Metropolitan University Students' Union Articles

More Articles...